Traveling to Canada with a DWUI
The state of Wyoming has its own unique acronym for driving under the influence: DWUI. This stands for Driving While Under the Influence. Wyoming takes a harsher stance on drunk driving charges that some other states. Therefore, the common practice of reducing a first time drunk driving charge to a lesser offense such as Reckless Driving does not apply in this state. Much like a DUI, a DWUI qualifies as an indictable offense under Canada's Criminal Code and may result in a denial of entry to Canada based on criminal inadmissibility. If you have been arrested for a DWUI or have a DWUI conviction, you will need to receive special permission to enter Canada. This permission can be obtained by applying for a Temporary Resident Permit (TRP) or Criminal Rehabilitation. A TRP application can be processed much more quickly that a Criminal Rehabilitation application. However, the TRP is only valid for a temporary period while the Criminal Rehabilitation enables you to enter Canada just like someone who has no inadmissibility on record.
If you have a Wyoming DWUI arrest or conviction, consult with our team of Canadian immigration lawyers and consultants today.
What are the Penalties for a Wyoming DWUI?
After being convicted of a DWUI charge, an offender will receive a typical range of penalties described below.
1st offense DWUI
For a 1st offense DWUI, it is classified as a misdemeanor and the typical range of penalties include:
90 day license suspension
Possibility of limited driving privileges
Possible jail time
Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for 6 months (if BAC tests at .15% or higher)
2nd offense DWUI
For a 2nd offense DWUI within the past 5 years, it is classified as a misdemeanor and the typical range of penalties include:
12 month license suspension
Minimum 7 days of jail
Installation of an IID for 12 months
3rd offense DWUI
For a 3rd offense DWUI within the past 5 years, it is classified as a misdemeanor and the typical range of penalties include:
3 year license revocation
Minimum 30 days of jail
Installation of an IID for 2 years
4th offense DWUI
For a 4th offense DWUI within the past 5 years, it is classified as a felony and the typical range of penalties include:
3 year license revocation
Substantial fines and custody time
Installation of an IID from 5 years to life
It is important to note that for all offenses, the critical look back period is 5 years. Naturally, these penalties will be more severe if you cause serious injury to another person or a child was a passenger your vehicle.
In addition to the above penalties, Wyoming has a zero tolerance law for drivers who are underage. If a driver under 21 is pulled over and tested at a Blood Alcohol Level of .02% or higher, he or she will be charged with DWUI as a minor.
Whether you have been arrested with or convicted of a DWUI or are still in the midst of completing a deferral program, you will be considered criminally inadmissible to Canada. If you are in this situation, don't give up hope! Contact our legal team today and see how we can guide you to successfully overcoming your DWUI inadmissibility.